Monday, December 30, 2013

The pursuit of the rare perfect season in college basketball (

Cleanthony early wichita state

Only eight teams in the history of NCAA Division College Basketball during the postseason era (since 1938) have went undefeated during the regular season and went on the win the National Title:

LIU Blackbirds (24-0 in 1939)
San Francisco Dons (29-0 in 1956)
North Carolina Tar Heels (32-0 in 1957)
UCLA Bruins (30-0 in 1964, 1967, 1972 and 1973)
Indiana Hoosiers (32-0 in 1976)

Sixteen other teams have went undefeated during the regular season, but either fell in the conference tournament, NCAA Tournament or were ineligible for postseason play. The last to do so was St. Joseph’s in 2004 who finished the regular season 27-0 and lost in the first round of the Atlantic 10 Tournament.

As we embark on conference play in the 2013-14 season, it’s safe to say that it’s very rare to post the perfect season.

Here at 27inarow, we thought it would be a great idea to examine the seven remaining undefeated teams and their chances at pulling off an undefeated season or where they might lose.

We’ve put them in order from least to most likely to finish the season undefeated.

Continue reading the article by clicking here.

No comments:

Post a Comment